Duke of Westminster's Medal for Military Literature 

Created with the support of The Duke of Westminster, the Duke of Westminster's Medal for Military Literature was awarded annually from 1997 - 2016.

The award was given to a book by a living author, regardless of nationality, gender or age, who made a notable and original contribution to the study of international and national security and defence.

This Medal has now been replaced by the Duke of Wellington Medal for Military History.

Below is a list of winners of the Duke of Westminster Medal for Military Literature between 1997 and 2015.



2015: Lord Peter Hennessy and James Jinks - The Silent Deep: The Royal Navy Submarine Service since 1945 

2014: Rana Mitter - China’s War with Japan 1937-1945: The Struggle for Survival 

2013: Anne Applebaum - Iron Curtain 

2012: Sir Max Hastings - All Hell Let Loose 

2011: Sir Rodric Braithwaite - Afgantsy: the Russians in Afghanistan 1979-1989. 

2010: Antony Beevor - D-Day: The Battle for Normandy 

2009: Sir Lawrence Freedman - A Choice of Enemies: America Confronts the Middle East 

2008: Professor Christopher Bellamy - Absolute War 

2007: Aleksandr Fursenko and Timothy Naftali - Khrushchev’s Cold War 

2006: Professor Roger Knight - The Pursuit of Victory: The Life and Achievement of Horatio Nelson 

2005: Professor Nicholas Rodger - The Command of the Ocean: A Naval History of Britain 1649-1815 

2004: Gerard DeGroot - The Bomb, a Life 

2003: Sir Marrick Goulding - Peacemonger 

2002: Sir Percy Cradock - Know Your Enemy: How the Joint Intelligence Committee Saw the World 

2001: Norman Friedman - The Fifty-Year War: Conflict and Strategy in the Cold War 

2000: Michael Hickey - The Korean War: The West confronts Communism 

1999: John Keegan - The First World War 

1998: Professor Hew Strachan - The Politics of the British Army 

1997: Andrew Gordon - The Rules of the Game: Jutland and the British Naval Command