You are here

Chesney Gold Medal

The Chesney Gold Medal is the highest award in the gift of the Council of the Royal United Services Institute.

Sir George ChesneyIn 1899, the Council of the then Royal United Services Institution decided to honour the memory of the late General Sir George Chesney, KCB, Royal Engineers, with the periodic award of the Gold Medal to the author of any especially eminent work calculated to advance the military sciences and knowledge.

It was first awarded in 1900 to Captain Alfred Thayer Mahan USN, arguably the maritime equivalent of Clausewitz, and has been awarded thirty-three times since, including to Winston Churchill in 1950 and Baroness Thatcher in 2000. The purpose of the award is to mark a life-long distinguished contribution in the defence and international security fields, to the benefit of the United Kingdom and/or the international community.

Past recipients


2015: Henry Kissinger

Petraeus Chesney Gold Medal 2013

2013: General David H Petraeus (Retd)